Work that Body!

My brother wanted to try suspension training for a looong time (and this post will be quite long too). He convinced me to try it to improve my upper body and core strength which I desperately need if I wanted to learn to surf. 165559_184467488248917_3204969_n

I would say, we were lucky to try Kinematics at Cubao. Their studio was kinda hard to find at first since we are not very familiar with the area. We took the MRT station and got off at the Cubao Station. The studio is just walking distance from the station. Their studio is located at the end of North Road, inside the Scarlet Spa Compound. Just ask the receptionist where the studio is and you wont miss it!

We changed into our workout clothes (clothes I borrowed from a friend who runs) and found the studio a few minutes earlier than our scheduled time. We watched the different sets of exercise and I was ready to go home. It was just too much watching them, especially for someone who has no mind and body coordination. Tsktsktsk! Why did I let my brother talk me into this? Why?!

Before I had the chance to run and save myself, the workout ended and we were invited in by Stephen Paulino, our instructor for the day. We were interviewed and briefed about TRX. TRX is mainly composed of four parts: the anchor, the adjustable TRX rope, handle and foot cradle. Some TRX that can be bought in the market has a stopper and some don’t. The one we available at their studio had a stopper.

385954_10151480978404742_2120174398_n

Basic rules in using TRX:

1. The ropes must never slack during the entire session. The exercises will mainly use your arms or legs pulling or pushing the TRX. Your arms and legs will do a lot of work but your core will be used throughout the session (that is if your doing it right).

2. Never do a set with your TRX ropes crossed.

3. To avoid injuries like rope burns, do not let the TRX touch your skin.

4. Do not use the ropes to balance your body while there is tension on the ropes. The friction will damage the TRX. And we don’t want that!

Seems like four is a magic number for TRX; there are four sets of exercises catering to different parts of the body with a minute of rest in between each set.

After completing the fourth set, Stephen was surprised that we actually finished the workout. Most of the first timers quit before the start of the fourth set. I guess competitive blood runs in the family and quitting is not an option. Good job to both of us! ^__^ It was tiring but fun. Thank you, Stephen!

For the next two days, my triceps, biceps, thighs and calves hurt a lot with a little tinge on my core muscles. I guess I was doing a lot of the exercises wrong then. Hahaha. This was addressed during our second time. Our instructor was Jon, Stephen’s older brother who owns the studio at Cubao. Stephen has his own studio at Katipunan and takes over Jon’s studio during Saturdays.

Jon is big on getting the form right (just like my favorite yogi master). He told us that he teaches fundamentals – the basics of TRX training while his brother, specializes at advance training for athletes. O__O

I learned I was doing the planking exercises wrong and I am prone to getting my back into more trouble. Also, I had A LOT of unused muscles that is why I couldn’t get the forms right. I was laughing so hard when Jon was trying to imitate what I was doing wrong and failing. When I started, I knew it would be hard because of my limited arm strength. Boy, was I wrong. TRX will push you to use every muscle in your body! I needed to use most of those muscles for the first time in my life. O__O

I learned so much during our second session but I was nowhere near getting the forms right. It was so different from yoga but both very beneficial to your body. My arms and legs are still burning a bit when doing the sets plus I was tired from work.

My biggest surprise came after the workout. Jon told us that we wont experience the same pain after our first TRX workout and I was skeptical. I was expecting not to be able to get up the next day but I got up without any problems at all. Wow!

For our third and last session, I encouraged Rhoda to join us but she sprained her ankle and passed going to class. Stephen is the instructor for our third session. Some of the exercises were changed to spice up our training a bit. It was a bit harder from the first and second time. We got tired easily and Stephen told us we looked like first timers during the exercise. Come on! Side planking? I can’t even get planking right yet! And I missed some of my favorite exercise but he assured us that the new exercises he introduced caters to the same muscles used on the exercises he replaced.

Even though it was more tiring than the other TRX classes we had, we didn’t experience any discomfort the following day. That’s good right? We hope we could come back. It was really fun. I miss TRX training already.

What I wanted in Kinematics TRX Suspension Training is the easy atmosphere. No pressure. No commitments, just show up whenever you want. The trainers (both Jon and Stephen) tries to develop a good relationship with all their students and try to really get to know them. At the end of sessions, I felt good meeting new people and felt at ease. Another plus for me is the variety of exercises in TRX. There is always something new to learn at TRX. I won’t advise you to go and practice TRX alone in your home after a few sessions in class. This extreme kind of training needs proper supervision to prevent you hurting yourself in the long run. And it is your trainer’s job to keep you safe during the training. 😀

Yoga promotes improvements within your own self, and is meant to be practiced alone. This is completely fine with me and I loved the peace and detoxifying effects of yoga. But once in a while it is good to meet new friends who encourages you to push yourself to your limits. They tell you how to improve your form without passing judgement, much like yoga. Great group of people to hang out with. I will definitely try be back (hopefully, Rhoda will be able to join us next time). A new item to add to my list I wanted to do. The list is growing longer! @__@

Leave a Reply

